We are excited to announce the 2022 Groot Grant recipients. We are honored by all the submissions we have received this year, and the time and dedication devoted to each piece submitted. We encourage those who did not win to submit again next year, as we appreciate witnessing the growth and evolution of your work.

This year’s Grant recipients are as follows:

First place recipient: Raven Halfmoon

Raven Halfmoon is awarded for her work which addresses her Caddo heritage while acknowledging current events and societal norms.

Second place recipient: Claire Morgan

Claire Morgan creates work that explores the human condition, our relationships with other species, and with the earth itself.

Third place recipient: Jessica Trefethen Segall

Jessica Trefethen Segall is awarded for her site-specific, inter-species sculpture which is built on a foundation of research that often includes collaborations with scientists and activists.

We would also like to further our congratulations to the three honorable mentions this year:

David Harper

Cannupa Luger

Victoria-Idongesit Udondian

Once again, congratulations, and don’t forget the 2023 submissions open on June 1st of this year.